Ag Committee Power Shifts to Plains

Subcommittee leadership announcements show more representation from Plains than the South.

Several changes have been made in regards to leaders of the different subcommittees within the House Agriculture Committee. Rep Leonard Boswell, D-Iowa was selected to chair the powerful General Farm Commodities Subcommittee following Rep. Bob Ethridge, D-N.C., leaving the committee for a slot on Ways and Means. The subcommittee oversees commodity programs, crop insurance and the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. Rep. Jerry Moran, R-Kan., remains the ranking member on the subcommittee.

The new ranking member of the House Ag Committee is Rep. Frank Lucas, R-Okla., replacing Rep. Bob Goodlatte, R-Va., due to GOP leadership term limit rules. He announced three other ranking members to subcommittees from Midwestern and Plains states. Also Rep. Earl Pomeroy, D-N.D., continues to sit on both Agriculture and Ways and Means committees, and several Southern members left the committee for seats on other committees.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.