Beef Industry Scholarships Announced

Kansas State University student takes top honor.

The CME Group and National Cattlemen's Foundation announced the 10 students that have been awarded $1,500 scholarships to pursue careers in the beef industry. Winners were selected from essays written about a challenge to the beef industry and a solution to deal with it.

Rebecca Tokach, a junior at Kansas State University was chosen as the overall winner, receiving an expenses-paid trip to the 2008 Cattle Industry Annual Convention in Reno. On Feb. 9 she will be recognized during the National Cattlemen's Beef Association's Awards Luncheon.

Others receiving scholarships are:

Annie Doerr

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Mollie Dorrance

Colorado State University

Clinton Laflin

Eureka (Kansas) High School

Bryan Edward Luark

Colorado State University

Elise Marchant

Oakley (Idaho) High School

Amanda Nolz

South Dakota State University

Jared Williams

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

J.W. Wood

Colorado State University

Jason Zwilling

Oklahoma State University

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.