Flinchbaugh Elected Chair of Farm Foundation Board

Flinchbaugh Elected Chair of Farm Foundation Board

K-State professor chairs Board of Trustees of Farm Foundation.

Barry Flinchbaugh, professor of agricultural economics at Kansas State University, has been elected Chair of the Board of Trustees of Farm Foundation. He succeeds Richard Hahn, retired president of Farmers National Co.
Greg Heying, senior vice president of distribution for SUPERVALU, was named Vice Chair. The election took place at the Board's annual meeting in June in
Sacramento, Calif. Flinchbaugh and Heying also serve as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of Farm Foundation NFP, the not-for-profit corporation responsible for Farm Foundation's day-to-day activities.
Established in 1933, Farm Foundation is directed by a Board of Trustees comprised of leaders in agriculture and the food system. Farm Foundation works as a catalyst for sound public policy by providing objective information to foster a deeper understanding of issues shaping the future of agriculture, food systems and rural regions. Farm Foundation does not lobby or advocate.  Its primary product is comprehensive, objective information on economic and public policy issues.
Flinchbaugh has taught at
Kansas State since 1971, focusing on national agricultural and economic policy. He is much sought after as a speaker, and has authored more than 100 publications, including an agricultural policy textbook. On three occasions students of the KSU College of Agriculture have given him the Outstanding Teacher Award. He earned his bachelor's and master's degrees at Pennsylvania State University, and a Ph.D. at Purdue University.
Flinchbaugh chaired the Commission on 21st Century Production Agriculture authorized in the 1996 Farm Bill. He has led Kansas Agricultural People-to-People tours to the
Soviet Union, China, the South Pacific and Africa. Flinchbaugh is a member of Rotary International, serves on the Board of the Kansas City Board of Trade and KARL Inc. He is a recipient of the prestigious Hildreth Award for career achievement in public policy education, as well as distinguished service awards from the American Farm Bureau Federation and the American Agricultural Editors Association.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.