LIP Changes Announced

LIP Changes Announced

Weight categories will help assure proper payment.

The USDA Farm Service Agency has announced it will add an additional weight category to the Livestock Indemnity Program for non-adult beef cattle, non-adult dairy cattle and non-adult buffalo/beefalo. The over 400 pound category will be split into two categories, 400 to 799 pounds and 800 pounds or more. The Agency believes this change will ensure that the assigned market values for non-adult beef cattle, non-adult dairy cattle and non-adult buffalo/beefalo over 400 pounds reflect the statutory requirement for the payment to be 75% of the market value for the livestock.


FSA state offices will establish new normal mortality rates for each of the new weight categories covered under the program and FSA national headquarters will establish average fair market prices for each category. The Livestock Indemnity Program compensates livestock owners and contract growers for livestock death losses in excess of normal mortality due to adverse weather, including losses due to hurricanes, floods, blizzards, disease, wildfires, extreme heat and extreme cold.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.