FAA names members of UAV registration task force

FAA names members of UAV registration task force

FAA UAS task force members include representatives from PrecisionHawk, GoPro and Amazon

The Federal Aviation Administration on Thursday named the 25 members of a task force that will discuss the details of FAA's new unmanned aerial vehicle registration requirements.

The task force was announced by FAA Administrator Michael Huerta. Earl Lawrence, Director of the FAA's UAS Integration Office, and Dave Vos of Google X will co-chair the group.

Department of Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx and Administrator Huerta announced the formation of the Task Force last week.

Related: FAA taps two new UAV integration advisors

FAA says the Task Force membership represents a range of stakeholder viewpoints, interests and knowledge of the objectives and scope.

FAA UAS task force members include representatives from PrecisionHawk, GoPro and Amazon

While the task force was selected by invitation, interested parties who are not members of the Task Force may submit comments to the public docket.

Sec. Foxx set a deadline of Nov. 20 for the Task Force to complete its recommendations and work is already underway. The group will meet formally from Nov. 3-5 before developing recommendations on a streamlined registration process and minimum requirements on which unmanned aircraft should be registered.

Along with the FAA and DOT, the following federal agencies will provide expert support to the Task Force: Department of Commerce, Department of Defense, Department of Homeland Security, Department of the Interior, Office of Management and Budget, National Aeronautics and Space Administration and the Department of State.

In addition to naming the task force, Huerta this week testified in front of the Senate Appropriations Committee, Transportation, Housing, and Urban Development Subcommittee on UAVs, explaining the FAA's justification for registration.

According to Huerta, the requirement allows FAA to educate UAV operators about airspace rules and helps the agency more easily identify and take enforcement actions against unsafe operators.

Huerta said as the task force develops recommendations, the agency will continue to enforce existing regulations.

Related: UAV technology: An aerial view of farm profits

"We do not want to stifle innovation, but we are never going to compromise on safety," he said in prepared testimony. "Working together with all interests, we’re confident we can balance safety and innovation."

A listing of the new task force members and their companies is available on the next page >>


Nancy Egan – 3D Robotics
Richard Hanson – Academy of Model Aeronautics
George Novak – Aerospace Industries Association
Chuck Hogeman and Randy Kenagy – Air Line Pilots Association
Jim Coon – Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association
Sean Cassidy – Amazon Prime Air
Ben Gielow–Amazon Retail
Justin Towles – American Association of Airport Executives
Brian Wynne – Association of Unmanned Vehicle Systems International
Parker Brugge – Best Buy
Douglas Johnson – Consumer Electronics Association
Brendan Schulman – DJI
Paul Feldman – General Aviation Manufacturers Association
Dave Vos – GoogleX (Co-Chair)
Tony Bates – GoPro
Matt Zuccaro – Helicopter Association International
Mike Fergus – International Association of Chiefs of Police
John Perry – Management Association for Private Photogrammetric Surveyors
Brandon Declet – Measure
Randall Burdett – National Association of State Aviation Officials
Sarah Wolf – National Business Aviation Association
Baptiste Tripard – Parrot
Tyler Collins – PrecisionHawk
Gregory McNeal – Small UAV Coalition
Thomas Head – Walmart

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.