Four Members Join Lamb Board

New appointees represent producers, first-handlers, and feeders.

Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns appointed four members to the Lamb Promotion, Research, and Information board Thursday. The appointees will serve three-year terms beginning January 27, 2007.

The 13-member board is made up of six producers, three feeders, one seedstock producer and three first-handlers. The Secretary appoints about one-third of all board members each year to new three-year terms.

The new members are: Margaret C. Magruder of Oregon and Florence M. Cubiburu of California representing producers; Kevin R. Quam of Colorado representing first-handlers; and Arthur (Chico) H. Denis III of Texas representing feeders.

The board is financed by a mandatory assessment of one-half cent per pound on ovine animals of any age, including ewes and rams, sold by producers, seedstock producers, feeders, and exporters. Also, an assessment of thirty cents per head must be paid by first-handlers.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.