House Agriculture Committee Reorganized

House Agriculture Committee Reorganized

New chairs of subcommittees named.

The House Agriculture Committee's six subcommittees have been reorganized and new chairs named with the shift of the Republican Party to the majority. Four of the six committees have been rearranged as to their jurisdiction and renamed.

The Subcommittee on Department Operations, Oversight and Credit merges general oversight with agricultural credit issues. Rep. Jeff Fortenberry, R-Neb., will chair that subcommittee. Credit and research issues have been removed from the subcommittee that included conservation and energy. Research will be paired with rural development on the Subcommittee on Rural Development, Research, Biotechnology, and Foreign Agriculture, which will be chaired by Rep. Tim Johnson, R-Ill.

Rep. Glenn Thompson, R-Pa., will chair the Subcommittee on Conservation, Energy and Forestry. Nutrition has been rolled together with fruits and vegetables and organic farming. Rep. Jean Schmidt, R-Ohio, will chair the Subcommittee on Nutrition and Horticulture.

The two remaining subcommittees, General Farm Commodities and Risk Management chaired by Rep. Mike Conway, R-Texas, and Livestock, Dairy and Poultry chaired by Rep. Tom Rooney, R-Fla., will for the most part be the same as in the previous Congress. Democratic appointments to the committees is expected within a few weeks.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.