House Names Farm Bill Conference Committee

Official conference negotiations between the House and Senate can begin.

On Wednesday House Agriculture Committee Chairman Collin Peterson, D-Minn., announced the members appointed by Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., to serve on the conference committee that will negotiate with Senate conferees the final version of a farm bill.

"The Members serving on this conference committee have a challenging job as we work to come to an agreement that will move the Farm Bill forward," Peterson says. "I'm confident that if everyone comes to the table willing to negotiate and compromise, we can pass a new Farm Bill that will expand important nutrition and conservation programs and provide new resources for fruit and vegetable producers and renewable energy programs while improving the farm safety net."

Besides Peterson, members from the Agriculture Committee appointed were, Tim Holden, D-Pa.; Mike McIntyre, D-N.C.; Bob Etheridge, D-N.C.; Leonard Boswell, D-Iowa; Joe Baca, D-Calif.; Dennis Cardoza, D-Calif.; David Scott, D-Ga.; Agriculture Committee Ranking Member Bob Goodlatte, R-Va.; Frank Lucas, R-Okla.; Jerry Moran, R-Kan.; Robin Hayes, R-N.C.; Marilyn Musgrave, R-Colo.; Randy Neugebauer, R-Texas.

Thirty-five other members with jurisdiction on farm bill provisions beyond agriculture were also appointed.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.