National Biodiesel Board Elects Leadership

A diverse group was chosen for NBB governing board.

The National Biodiesel Board met in St. Louis, Mo. this week for the annual fall board meeting and elected leadership for its governing board. Doug Smith of Baker Commodities and David Lyons of Louis Dreyfus Commodities, were newly elected to the NBB board.

The two bring to the board the perspective of various feedstock producers of biodiesel. Smith's background is with using animal fats and recycled greases as feedstocks for biodiesel. Lyons comes to the board from the production facility point of view.

Ed Hegland, a farmer from Appleton, Minn., was reelected chairman of the governing board of the NBB. Representing the Minnesota Soybean Research & Promotion Council, Hegland begins his second term as chairman that he was originally elected to in 2005.

The diverse makeup of the governing board is a show of unity as the biodiesel industry continues to demonstrate that it is a sustainable, viable part of meeting the nation’s energy needs," Hegland said.

Other officers that were reelected were Gary Haer, vice chairman, from the Renewable Energy Group, Inc. of Ames, Iowa; Jim Conway, secretary, from Griffin Industries of Cold Spring, Ky.; and Ed Ulch, treasurer, representing the Iowa Soybean Association, from Solon, Iowa.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.