Nation's Top Sorghum Producers Identified

Nation's Top Sorghum Producers Identified

Yield contest winners will be honored at Commodity Classic.

National Sorghum Producers has identified the top growers, winners of the 2010 NSP Yield and Management Contest. The national winners will be recognized at Commodity Classic in Tampa, Florida, on March 4, 2011, at a dinner to be held in their honor sponsored by Pioneer. This year's top yield of 200.29 bushels per acre was entered by Chris Robinson Farms in Kentucky in the Conventional-Till Non-Irrigated category.

Other first place winners were: Sunland Enterprises in Colorado: Courtright Farms in Nebraska; John Scates of Illinois; Jeff Scates, also of Illinois; Duane Vorderstrasse of Nebraska; and Mike Fischer of Nebraska.

NSP Chairman Gerald Simonsen says this annual yield contest gives the industry a chance to showcase the accomplishments of growers. Simonsen credits grower's sound management practices, which have proven to produce higher yields.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.