Schafer Appoints Dairy Board Members

Board implements programs to strengthen domestic and foreign markets.

On Thursday Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer announced the appointment of eight new members and reappointment of five incumbents to the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board. Twelve appointees will serve three-year terms, through Oct. 31, 2011 and one appointee will serve a two-year term through Oct. 31, 2010.

Composed of 36 dairy farmers representing 13 regions of the contiguous United States, the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board administers a coordinated program of promotion, research and nutrition education. The Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983 established the board and authorized it to design programs to strengthen the dairy industry's position in domestic and foreign markets. The program is financed by a mandatory 15-cent per hundredweight assessment on milk produced and marketed commercially by dairy farmers in the 48 states. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) monitors the operation of the board.

AMS encourages all eligible individuals to participate in its committee and board activities. It is USDA's policy that membership on industry-governed boards and committees accurately reflect the diversity of individuals served by the programs.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.