Three Counties Added to Federal Disaster Declaration

Edwards, Pratt and Stafford counties had major storm damage.

A federal disaster declaration has been expanded to three additional Kansas counties in the path of the May 4th tornado. Edwards, Pratt and Stafford counties join Kiowa County on the federal disaster declaration.

This means affected producers in those counties are eligible for individual assistance which provides up to 75% coverage for losses not covered by insurance for damage to homes and some small businesses. According to the office of Sen. Pat Roberts, the expansion also includes agriculture-related losses and makes producers eligible for low interest loans and emergency conservation assistance.

To learn more about specific producer eligibility, affected farmers are urged to contact their local Farm Service Agency office.

In addition, the Federal Emergency Management Agency is continuing to review the potential need for public assistance (roads, schools, etc.) in the expanded territory.

FEMA is also conducting Preliminary Damage Assessments in Barton, Phillips and Ottawa counties. This is the first step to possibly expanding declarations to those counties.

Meanwhile, Rep. Jerry Moran is working to ensure that losses from this storm and the Easter weekend freeze will be included in the disaster package ultimately adopted by Congress.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.