USDA Designates Morris County a Natural Disaster Area

Farmers there are eligible for low interest emergency loans.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture designated Morris County a primary natural disaster area due to losses caused by drought, excessive winds and high temperatures that occurred during the 2006 crop year from Jan. 1, 2006, through Dec. 31, 2006. They also eligible because they are contiguous to Chase, Dickinson, Geary, Lyon, Marion and Wabaunsee counties.

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas on March 21, 2007, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA has also made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Emergency Conservation Program, Federal Crop Insurance and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program.

Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at:

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.