We Kan! Awards Presented at Sampler Festival

We Kan! Awards Presented at Sampler Festival

Ten individuals who help preserve and sustain rural culture recognized with awards at annual event

The 18th annual We Kan! awards were presented at last week’s Kansas Sampler Festival to 10 people who help preserve and sustain rural culture. The awards are given by the Kansas Sampler Foundation as appreciation for dedicated work at the grassroots level.

The 2010 winners are Cathy Albert, Wakeeney, Invaluable Community Promoter; Linda Clover, Cawker City, Caretaker of a Community Asset; Kathie and Jack Crispin, Lincoln, Outstanding Keepers of History; Judy Dayhoff, Boulder, CO., Champion Explorer; Craig Hull, Crawford County, Going the Extra Mile; Kaye Kuhn, Medicine Lodge, Caretaker of Important History; Nancy Nolte, Blue Rapids, Champion Explorer; Glenda Purkis, Abilene, Steady and Positive Influence; Tom Reed, Horton, Deluxe Entrepreneur and Good Guy!; and Lea Ann Seiler, Hodgeman County, Positive Force for Forward Motion.

Foundation director Marci Penner said, "In their own way, each of these people has made an impact for the good of rural Kansas. It is our privilege to honor them."

The award plates were made by Steve and Jane Fry of Elk Falls Pottery.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.